Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noob needs help locating VIN

Old 08-24-2010, 04:27 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob needs help locating VIN

I think the answer is no, but is there VIN info located anywhere on a 2000 6.0 engine and/or computer from a 2500 Silverado? Sorry, I'm a little new to this. I believe the info is logged into the computer electronically, but I don't have a way to check that right now. I am trying to get some part numbers straightened out, but as most of you know the dealer won't even turn on their parts computers unless you can give the a VIN. There are a lot of numbers on the big white sticker on my PCM box but none of them look like a VIN. Actually I think the dealer only needs the last 8 digits, but anyway, any help is appreciated. The truck itself is of course long gone.
Old 08-24-2010, 05:12 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

The vin is in the pcm but you need HP Tuners or EFI Live to get to it. I don't know if it's anywhere else on the motor or not.
Old 08-24-2010, 06:15 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The might be VIN numbers laser eched on the block..bell housing flange next to the oil filter, or at lease there are some numbers there..
Old 08-24-2010, 09:46 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by LQ4-K5