LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Overheating at idle or moving

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2010, 08:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Overheating at idle or moving

I'm pretty much out of idea's to why my car keeps overheating. LT1's are not new to me and I work on cars for a living. So basically I have whole new engine setup with 350miles on it. Everything was working fine until last week the temp gauge jumped up to 210 and then up to 260 when I was stopped. It was only about 72* outside as well. Got it home and the overflow bottle was filled to the top and splashed coolant everywhere.
So far I have replaced the radiator cap (which failed a pressure test), put in a new 160* thermostat, and flushed the cooling system about 5 times so far. Right now I switched to pure water with water wetter.

I have used several different bleeding techniques... squeezing the coolant hoses, front end jacked up, opening up the bleeder screw with the cap on or off when up to temp, and using my Spill Free Funnel with the car on to burp the air bubbles out. I was getting air out of the bleeder so eventually I realized I wasn't getting heat inside so I bypassed the heater core. Now I have a foot long of hose from one water pump fitting to the other bypassing the heater core. Finally, I'm getting a steady stream of water out of the bleeder. But of course, the temp gauge still gets up to 210 within a minute and keeps climbing to red until I shut it down.

A few facts:
-Fans turn on and are tuned for the 160* stat
-Scan tool shows temp sensor at water pump is basically the same as the sensor in the head (scan tool shows 10* hotter than the gauge)
-Only bleeder screw I have is on the thermostat housing. The one on the heater hose is removed.
-No coolant in the oil
-No coolant in the exhaust
-Radiator holds pressure
-Bled, bled, and bled some more

Things that still concern me: