PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

VE tables dialed in. When I renable the MAF it Runs very Lean?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2010, 09:58 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default VE tables dialed in. When I renable the MAF it Runs very Lean?

I'm still new to this so please bear with me.

I have a bolt on 99 T/A that I'm tuning. I unplugged the MAF, copied the high octane spark table to the low octane spark table and logged LT and ST fuel trims. I got the primary VE table close, then disabled LT fuel trims and got the ST fuel trims to +-5 up to 4000 RPM.

After getting a decent log and feeling comfortable with my Primary VE table (only table adjusted thus far) I reconnected the MAF and my LTs are suddenly in the 15 to 25 range. To test I flashed the PCM back to stock and the LTs were lower.

My question is why would the MAF cause the car to run lean if all I've done is richen the primary VE table? I'll admit that my knowledge of how the MAF works is limited but this just doesn't make sense to me.

Last edited by Golf&GM; 10-15-2010 at 12:27 PM.
Old 10-14-2010, 10:28 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Pretty sure you have to copy the primary ve to the secondary or it doesnt change anything
Old 10-14-2010, 11:09 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The MAF needs to be calibrated as well. If you are using a wideband you can log all of the appropriate PIDS together and apply the same correction to the MAF table that you use for the VE table.

Which software are you using?
Old 10-15-2010, 08:36 AM
TECH Resident