Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS6 to T56 graft for Miata Qs

Old 10-17-2010, 03:15 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS6 to T56 graft for Miata Qs

Hello LS1Tech people—
I am a complete newb when it comes to LS stuff, but am actively seeking knowledge, and this forum is a wealth of information. I apologize in advance if I'm beating a horse that is previously been put to rest, but in my multiple attempts at searching the forum, I couldn't find the info that I think I need.
My friend Dean Thomas, a forum member and skilled racer with an LS1 Miata, and also another forum member, STANDUP95, referred me here.
I'm building an LSx Miata hybrid. Actually, the folks at Evil Genius Racing are building it for me, but I'm doing the research and procurement.
This is going to be a street car, so maintaining the complete electrical system as well as the emissions is going to be a key part of the transplant.
Now I understand that the Z06 has the engine in front connected to the T56 transmission via torque tube. I have been trying to ascertain the path to connecting a T56 (maybe the one from the 04 Z06, maybe another one) directly to the LS6 motor.
Has anyone done this type of transplant?
Clearly, I will need a bell housing, a clutch assembly, and a flywheel, as well as the tail end of the transmission. The LS6 engine kit I have my eye on includes the motor, exhaust, wiring harness, ECM, intake system, even the gauges. Is there a component of the wiring harness that is specific to the engine/transmission interface?
Is there a rational way to pull this off, or would I be a whole lot better off just buying a donor GTO or WS6 or LS1 Camaro? The LS6 has a lot of appeal to me; it’s more than the LS1 or LS2, and more must be better, right?