Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How long do you think your A4 will last

Old 02-01-2004, 07:45 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How long do you think your A4 will last

This is what i have found out threw the years from many tranny builders i have delt with. First off you need a build that is very up front and lets you know all that is going in the units and gives you some choices on the units. "Warrenty" a good shop will put a 1 year 12k mile warrenty on the unit. Another thing is are all the parts ending up in your car that they say they are putting in. Id have to say that that is the biggest crookery that goes on in the trans business is people dont get what they pay for. The new builder that i have been using for 2 years now tells me and all his customers that he will put is race car up that every part listed is installed. I have stood there while he has built my unit and other customers units and every part makes it in there. Ok now the hp value on a trans it realy does not mean much its for perfect conditions. Perfect hook and go keeps the trans together. Now things that break trannys wheel hop, tire shake, power breaking to long, back to back pass or hot lapping "bad for clutches and bands ", low or dirty fluid will kill a trans ,and a inproper build without the proper parts can lead to a short life. Big words like "kevlar" stay away they chew up drums and eat up plates and fail quicker then other products out there. Currently the Alto band is the strongest and most surface area on the market today. Also we use a mixture of plates in the different clutch packs some work better then others in different areas of the tranny because rabestos reds, blues and borg-warner plats all have a special place in our trannys. The billet servo not need in all applications its a little harsh on the street we upgrade all f car trannys to the corvette servo atleast if they want a