Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another request for help selecting a cam. Opinions, please!

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2010, 05:04 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Another request for help selecting a cam. Opinions, please!

Hey guys,
So lately I’ve been thinking of getting a cam and was hoping to hear some opinions. I’ve been reading threads for weeks but would still like to hear what you guys have to say for my specific needs. My mods are in my sig, basically full bolt ons. The car is not a DD and only sees about 2,000 miles a year, but not a lot of track time, mostly just cruising on the street. I don’t want to sacrifice all the streetability, but being I don’t drive it often I want a decent amount of bang for my buck. Was thinking something in the 228 range?

Also, I’m a bolt on kind of guy. Up until now, I’ve done all the work on my car by myself, but I have no experience with internals and don’t want to risk screwing something up, so I’ll probably have a shop do it. A local performance shop that did my dynotune said a cam install and tune would run around $900. Does that sound about right? Also, is there anything else I’ll need to replace while I’m at it? I guess I don’t really know if I need to replace rods or anything else, I assume that would depend on the size of cam I get? IIRC, I’ve read to also replace the oil pump with an LS6 and the timing chain with an LS2. Is that correct?

And before someone posts to wait on the cam (which I’m sure they will, lol) I know I need driveline work done. I plan on keeping the 10 bolt until I save up more money and getting a 12 bolt with 373 and a stall all at once, but would like to start up front and work back. Plus, I don’t have THAT much money to play with and want to get something done over the winter, lol.

Any opinions would be greatly aprpeciated. Thanks!
Old 12-06-2010, 05:21 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts