Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch is slipping, need advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 03:36 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Clutch is slipping, need advice

Well i'm about 99% i need a new clutch. Car is a 98 Z28 with 130k miles. Not sure if it's the stock clutch or not. Rev's up in any gear when i push the gas down, won't grab worth a ****.

The car is 98% stock and probably will stay this way. What do you guys recommend i do for the cheapest possible solution? Like i said, this car is stock and is my daily. I'm on a tight budget and need to do what's cheapest.

This is about the cheapest i've found so far. Does it include everything i would need to install? I'm a complete noob when it comes to anything in the drivetrain.

http://www.ws6project.com/user_stor/...roducts_id=156

Someone point me in the right direction. Thanks
Old 01-04-2011, 04:23 PM
On The Tree

Look around and find someone that upgraded and get their old one would be the cheapest. Are you planning on installing yourself? Look in the vehicle part outs you should be able find one for cheap.
Old 01-04-2011, 07:37 PM
TECH Resident

I highly doubt i would be able to do it myself, unless i could find a detailed tutorial somewhere. I'd probably rather have someone who knows what they are doing do it.
Old 01-04-2011, 08:00 PM
TDP
FormerVendor

I would recommend a Diamond Stage 1. It's much stronger than the stock clutch and even a little stronger than the LS7. Its currently on sale for only $299 for the basic kit. You can get your stock flywheel resurfaced for $30-40, and you'll need a new slave cylinder to do the job right. I sell new slaves for $80.
https://ls1tech.com/forums/manual-tr...s-special.html
Old 01-11-2011, 05:56 PM
TECH Resident

Any other recommendations? Keep in mind i'm trying to keep this is cheap as possible. Car is bone stock and will be for a long, long time.
Old 01-12-2011, 12:04 PM
TDP
FormerVendor