Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

need more fuel

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 07:48 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default need more fuel

I own a 04' C5 ZO6 but I've only had it for 11 months. And I'm still learning the fuel system. My question is about my options for increasing fuel without dropping the tank. The car makes roughly 440ish to the tire so I'm pretty sure I need to upgrade in the fueling system to spray a little.
Other than the typical Casper/Racetronics hotwire with the KB BAP is there any other ways to increase the fuel without dropping the damn tank?? I've been reading about the famous Bosch 044 and its potential. I have lots of ideas but I'd like to hear you guys thoughts.
O, and I've talked to all the professionals and they all want me to drop $1200-1700 bucks on there kits plus the price to drop the tank/suspention/tranny/rearend. Seems crazy for a 150 -200 shot. I've considered a stand alone but the rest of the system is hidden and that would blow all the hard work that went into that.
BTW, I'm only planning on spraying about 5 times a month. Because I only go to the track once or twice a month. The rest of the time it will be on the tank pump only. The more I type the more it sounds like the hotwire/BAP is the way to go.
But I still want opinions and facts on this.
Thanks....
Old 01-08-2011, 10:39 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

you don't need to drop the tank on a vette to get to the fuel pump.
Old 01-08-2011, 10:44 PM
TECH Regular

on an 04' ?? I thought post 03's had the C6 style fuel sysyem which meant a top mounted pump. And the pre 03's had the side mounted pump.
Old 01-09-2011, 12:22 AM
Teching In

You will have to drop it on your '04. Many people successfully run the Aeromotive A1000 with braided fuel lines through the rocker panels. I have my own safety concerns with that routing, but many successfully do it.
Old 01-09-2011, 09:41 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by LSOHOLIC