Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

Difference between the 3.15 and 3.42 gears?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2011, 12:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference between the 3.15 and 3.42 gears?

Hello all Corvette owners. I'm a newbie here. I used to be a member of an other well known Vette-website but the friends of mine recommended this site as a more PRO if I want some serious information. My english may lack a bit but I try to survive.

I own a 1999 model C5 Corvette charged with a 4L60e automatic gearbox and a 3.15 "performance" rear differential. I would like to install a 3.43 gears differential and a bit tighter torque converter.

So my question is that would there be any noticeable difference between the 3.15 and 3.43 gears? Or should I go to the 3.73 gears?

The 3.43 gears diff would be available as an original GM part but the other higher gear differentials are all rebuilt ones from the used cores. And installing the used parts is always a bit questionable.

And my second question is that what kind of a performance TC would you recommen for me to buy? Yank, Vigilante, TCI or Pro Torque? 1800-2200 stall would be all ok to me because I don't do drag racing. Just normal street driving and some quick accelerations every now and then.

All your help will be highly appreciated. Thank you.

Wild Finn
Old 01-20-2011, 11:49 AM
11 Second Club

My 99 has 3.73 and no issues. I also have a Yank 3800ss and I drive the hiway alot with no issues. Of coarse I drag race too. Dont think u would have a problem with 3.42s either. Converter and gears wake these babies up.
Old 01-20-2011, 12:59 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you do a stall don't go with less than a 2800. Keep the STR at 2.0 or less if you are on street tires and it will launch like a champ without changing the gears.