Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

99 LS1 in an Airboat. First timer help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 08:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 LS1 in an Airboat. First timer help!!!

Hello everyone! I am brand new to this LS1 thing so any help will be greatly appreciated. I just purchased a 99 LS1 complete pull out from a salvage yard. 62K miles, complete with Harness and ECU. Can anyone point me in the right direction with the harness? How do I know what I can cut off and what I can't. I am putting this motor into an airboat, so I will be stripping it down bare bones. I am removing the A/C components, Power Steering stuff, Smog crap, etc... Basically, I am just runnning the crank pulley, water pump, and alternator on the front of the motor. I am assuming I can pull off all the cross over pcv stuff too. But when I take the harness off, can I just cut everything I don't need off the harness? Do I need to terminate anything or jump anything together? I know I need to flash my ECU and reprogram it to turn certain sensors off. But I have never done this so I just thought I would ask for some suggestions on how to get starter. Right now, the motor is on a stand in my garage complete from the salvage yard.
Thanks,
Thomas
Old 01-23-2011, 10:18 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First business, get on www.southernairboat.com . Great info on that site. My dad has a 16' American with a 383 SBC and he is always on the forums. Also, lookup a guy with Water Thunder Performance. Their website is www.waterthunder.com . He is like the premier guy as far as LS motors into Airboats goes. He is a regular poster on southernairboat.com and he would probably be able to help you out with info on what to do with the wiring harness.