Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newb switching to 3-bar SD Tune... questions

Old 01-31-2011, 07:46 AM
11Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Newb switching to 3-bar SD Tune... questions

Hey guys,

I'm a total newb to tuning, but I think I am getting a general understanding of how it works. I have a Procharged LS1 pushing about 14psi, and it was (until yesterday) running on a 1-bar MAF tune. Yesterday, I changed to a 3-bar SD tune.

For starters, I changed to the SD tune and then copied my 100 kPa line in my VE table to higher pressures in the 3-bar tune. I had to do this column by column putting the values in the row that reflected the boost I run at that RPM. Then, I interpolated between that value and the 85 kPa line. I feel this should be a good starting point.

I have two main questions at this point. The first is, what should I do with my spark while I'm trying to get my AFR dialed in? It's my understanding that a good practice is to pull all the timing out, dial in your AFR, and then put the timing back. I'm good with that, but I'm not sure what to drop it to and what ranges I should bother changing... perhaps change any value that represents the car being in boost or WOT to something small like 6 degrees?

My second question is in regards to the MAF. My understanding is that the MAF is only referenced when in closed loop mode, and the car runs in open loop mode when at WOT. Therefore, is there really any need for me to fail the MAF and disconnect it? Clearly, it will be saturated when I'm pushing 14psi, but it shouldn't have any effect at that point in time, correct?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
Old 01-31-2011, 08:03 AM
TECH Addict

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

SD + MAF does not equate, its either or..and if you are running 14 lb why did you go with a 3 bar instead of a 2 bar?
Old 01-31-2011, 08:08 AM
11Second Club