Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can i bypass removing the valve body to get to my clutches

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 07:13 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can i bypass removing the valve body to get to my clutches

I have the 4l60e 1998 trans am. Im very new to the concept of actually trying to tear into a transmission. $$ has hit me as a factor and being new to this as with most things I belive the less I pull apart the less can go wrong putting it back together. No question about it my clutch disk are bad 3 free dios and monitoring with a scanner. So this isnt the question.This however is, Does the servo need to be removed along with the valve body to get to the packs?( are any pins going through or somthing that would cause a snag) or can I start with going strait down the center leaving the pan on except just enough to drain the fluid & filter change.Get to the packs and get out.

I recently bought the car The wrong fluid was in it from the dealer on a fresh tune up. Spent all of my big bucks on this car ASIS drove 30 miles towards home and the damage is done.lol Ive been done in good but the car ran perfect till the fluid burnt them up(test drive was fine)2nd TA I know how they should feel when you get on them and it checked out Aok, ran good for 10 min of beating on it for a test drive. The dealer is not taking credit ive owned the car less than 24 hours and want to be driving by the time the weeks over.
Old 02-05-2011, 09:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

the trans needs to come out ,and you need to remove the pump to start to remove clutch pacs..don't do it unless you have worked on alot of automatic trans.
Old 02-06-2011, 10:11 AM
Staging Lane

I would take that thing back to the lot where you bought it if they had it filled with the wrong fluid ultimately causing the tranny to give. Something smells fishy.
Old 02-06-2011, 10:53 AM
Restricted User

Originally Posted by Flihi97