Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Where to get switched accessory power for Aeroforce gauges?

Old 02-28-2011, 07:39 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Where to get switched accessory power for Aeroforce gauges?

I bought the Aeroforce gauge setup and they will not turn off when the car is off as the OBD2 port is always powered. I bought one of those add-a-fuse fuse terminals and plugged it into the accessory fuse on the driver's side fuse box and the gauges do not turn off.

Which fuse under the fuse back on driver side is a true switched accessory power?
Old 02-28-2011, 07:49 PM
TECH Resident

Just an update, FYI I am a noob at wiring haha. I hooked up the add-a-line to the Windshield Wiper fuse on drivers side and it works - gauges are off when car is off and boot up when ignition is turned to on. Should that be ok for my gauges? I used a 5a fuse for the gauges.
Old 02-28-2011, 07:54 PM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

Driver's side fuse panel:

Red Circle = IGN = Switched 12V Power (has power when key is in the on position, but does not have power otherwise)

Green Circle = BATT = 12V Always Hot (has power regardless of key position)

Blue Circle = ACCY = 12V Retained Accessory Power (best example is the radio - this will energize when the car is turned on, and will stay powered even after the car is turned off, but will turn off once the door is opened)

These slots can be accessed by using a flat blade connector crimped on the end of a wire (then use the wire to power whatever you wish) - just shove the connector in the appropriate slot from the front of the panel.

Last edited by MeentSS02; 02-28-2011 at 08:13 PM.
Old 02-28-2011, 08:20 PM
TECH Resident

thanks meent! if i do this method it won't be fused though. inline fuse?
Old 02-28-2011, 08:24 PM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

Correct...you'll want to use an inline fuse if you use any of those three slots just to be safe.