LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Exhaust Flange V Band

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 06:41 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Exhaust Flange V Band

Ok I'm tired of my band clamps leaking and stupid exhaust issues so I'm going to install V bands with my tax return. My question is, is it worth paying 50 bucks per v band kit on summit. I'm going to have 4 connections so thats 200 on clamps alone. I work in a shop at school and can draw up the flanges and put them on the cnc lathe or turn them out on the manual lathe. Would it be worth the trouble to machine the flanges or just man up and pay the extra and buy the kits?
Old 03-23-2011, 06:45 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

why don't you just get it welded? shouldn't leak and it wont cost $200
Old 03-23-2011, 06:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

I have a bmr welded crossmember for my torque arm and the x pipe tucks in above that and it goes over the axle so if I ever need to change my exhaust or take it out for any reason I would have to cut it and drop my rear
Old 03-23-2011, 06:57 PM
TECH Resident

I plan on doing the same for my connections at the headers but i have no input on which route you should take, gl
Old 03-23-2011, 07:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

I hated my leaking band clamps back when I had them. Now I have V-band clamps for my turbo parts. Your welder needs to be good cause if you warp the flange it won't seal.. but some RTV will fix that.

That's one thing you could do. Use a little RTV at the clamp connection with your band clamps.

Also don't hesitate to make your own flanges if you want. It feels good to make your own stuff. When I had access to a machine shop I made little things like EGR/AIR block off plates and brackets with a brake. Sometimes I want to go buy a bunch of machinery so I can make my own stuff again.
Old 03-23-2011, 07:16 PM
TECH Fanatic