General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Oil Leak!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 09:08 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Leak!!!

I'm not a complete newb, but cant seem to find where the leak is coming from. Do LS1's have a common place that they leak from? I recently bought the car and have not had a chance to get into it. I was at a muffler/repair shop and they guy thought it was comming from the oil pressure sending unit? I know it is at the rear of the engine and would be difficult to check without removing the intake. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 04-04-2011, 12:08 AM
On The Tree

You just need to look at it and see where the oil is coming from.. There are 320927509384 reasons why these motors can leak and an eqaul amount of places a leak can start..

Pictures of leak site would be awesome. A mirror will help you greatly.

How much oil is leaking?

Where does it appear to be coming from?
Old 04-04-2011, 08:42 AM
Teching In

I will get under it today, it appears to be leaking in the rear of the engine. it loses about a quart between oil changes. The underside of the car has a noticeable amount of oil splatter on it all the way back to the rear end.
Old 04-05-2011, 08:16 AM
Teching In

Default oil leak

I got under the car last night, the first thing I did was clean it up. Then I checked for loose bolts on the pan. The rear bolts seemed to be loose. I tighted them up but did not over do it because I didnt know the torque specs. I went for a short drive, jacked it up and found no visible leaks? I drove it to work this morning and looked under the car and found that it was leaking at the rear of the pan I dont know if it would help to take the inspection cover off the trans? Any Ideas?
Old 04-06-2011, 08:04 AM
Teching In