PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

dyno tune or buy hp tuners

Old 04-19-2011, 12:47 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default dyno tune or buy hp tuners

I have a a4 z28 ls1. It has heads,cam,intake,3.73s,throttle body,maf,injectors,and a dry100 shot. Also during my build getting a full manual valve body in my transmission and a 3600 stall. I am a mechanic and do my own work. Is it worth it to self tune it or get it dyno tuned?
Old 04-19-2011, 12:51 PM
Teching In

I'd say buy HP Tuners, especially if you're going to continue to modify the car....I don't really have anything done yet, but I'm going to buy it so i can tune myself every time I mod something. Why pay to have someone else tune it all the time?
Old 04-19-2011, 02:22 PM
Teching In

I'm looking into tuning my car on my own as well with HPtuner. I was going back and forth with the idea of the dyno tune or self-tuning myself. i see more benefits with tuning it myself, i just gotta learn how to use HPtuner and purchase it haha. I hope more people chime in on this, as i would like to hear other peoples' input on HPtuner as well. But good luck with whatever you decide to do!
Old 04-21-2011, 05:31 PM
12 Second Club

I bought HPTuners after my cam swap and before that I had absolutely no experience with tuning. I used this board, HPTuners board, and a lot of trial and error. I went from a mail order tune that was severely lacking, to the car driving almost stock. I get better gas mileage now, starts right up, settles to idle in just a few seconds, doesn't buck or surge, goes back to idle when I clutch in, doesn't dip or cut out. It pulls a lot stronger and doesn't stumble or stutter. This is all without a wideband.