Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

All 3 runs A/F goes from normal to 20:1 third way down the track?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2011, 06:57 AM
9 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default All 3 runs A/F goes from normal to 20:1 third way down the track?

First 2 runs (1/4 mile track) on Nitrous everything seemed normal at launch....A/F 12:1 and falling until approx third way down the track A/F shoots up to 20:1 and the A/F Safety Switch in my Progressive kicked off the Nitrous. Figured issue could be in the stand alone so did a naturally aspirated run and the exact same thing happened. The car did not stutter or bog..I just got out of it based on the A/F readings (I have 2 A/F guages and both registered the 20:1). Drove the car home with no issues..runs fine. I'm no mechanic but I'm thinking fuel pump...but replaced only a year ago with walbro 225 and hot wire kit. Appreciate anyone elses opinions....TKS!
Old 05-08-2011, 08:58 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

You could be sucking the fuel bucket dry due to a lack of fuel in the tank, or the venturi system not functioninig properly. The pump could be going bad or there could be an internal leak in the tank causing a pressure loss.

You should be running a fuel pressure gauge to see if the pressure drops.
This is valuable info to have. The air fuel gauge is good as it tells you that your engine is going to be damaged, but the pressure gauge can tell you the cause. Also you should be letting out of the throttle around 14:1 before permanant damage is done.
Old 05-08-2011, 09:45 AM
9 Second Club

Default Thanks Lonnie!

Originally Posted by Lonnies Performance
You could be sucking the fuel bucket dry due to a lack of fuel in the tank, or the venturi system not functioninig properly. The pump could be going bad or there could be an internal leak in the tank causing a pressure loss.

You should be running a fuel pressure gauge to see if the pressure drops.