New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driver side Power Window

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2011, 12:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driver side Power Window

I am new to the F-body scene and I heard that the window motors go out like crazy on these cars. Anyway Im pretty sure my window motor is out. When I push the the button to roll it up, I dont hear any motor sound and now my window is stuck in the down position. I cant even pull the damn thing up! What do you guys think?? If the motor is out would I still be able to pull the window up by hand?? I dont want to force it! What other issues could I be looking at?

thanks
Old 05-24-2011, 01:00 PM

oh BTW I have a 98 trans am
Old 05-24-2011, 01:52 PM
Teching In

I just had to replace the window motors on my 01 T/A...you're right, they are infamous for going bad. Do a search on here, there are many threads addressing what could be going on. If your motors are bad, it is a pretty complex process to replace them. Definitely not for beginners (I paid someone to do mine)
Old 05-24-2011, 02:00 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,467 Likes on 1,058 Posts

Sounds like either the motor or the switch is bad (switches go bad sometimes too).

It's not too hard to replace the motor, though it is a bit time consuming if you've never done one before. IMO, replacing the regulator would be a much worse job, but just doing the motor is very possibile for anyone with decent mechanical abilities.

Here is a great step-by-step process. I followed it, and it worked perfectly:

http://shbox.com/page/windowmotor.html
Old 05-24-2011, 02:03 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 208 Likes on 160 Posts

You'll have to remove the motor first to manually move the window up. While you have the motor out, you can do what this guy did in this link and it will bring the motor back to life, assuming that a dead motor is your problem.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/stereo-el...tors-pics.html