Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Ok, what parts do I need to order? Tranny is torn down.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 11:29 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ok, what parts do I need to order? Tranny is torn down.

Help a First Time Trans Rebuilder out.

Here is a quick recap. I bought this 98 SS with 220,000 miles on it from my buddy for pennies. The trans had no 5th or 6th gear. Just spun like neutral. Shifted perfect 1-4 with no buzzing or grinding or popping out. It didn't hum or vibrate in 1-4. So, I tear it down and see that the main shaft splines are gone. Same on what I believe it the 5th/6th cluster. See below.

Now everything else looks good to me. Just a few small chips here & there which reading the manual says they can be blended & fixed. Look here...

Blurry closeup of the same chip...

The arrow shows a very slight dip in the lip of the gear.

Syncros & gear wear look fine to me but I'm a rookie. Take a look.

So here's the questions.

1) If the syncros and gears look good on the shaft and there was no problem before do I need to remove everything off the shafts? (I know I need to remove the gears from the main shaft)

2) Do the gears and syncros look good based on my crappy pictures?

3) Besides a basic rebuild kit, main shaft & 5th/6th cluster, what else do I need to order? Or better yet, a list of what is needed so I can get an apples to apples comparison between vendors. Everyone has a different Stage 1,2 & 3 kit that don't exactly mean the same thing.

I love the front ends on these things!

Old 05-26-2011, 12:13 AM
jmd
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

You're inspecting the teeth on the slider ring of the synchro and on the gear that slide together on a shift for wear. Example: http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/i...o/DSCN0172.jpg looks chewed up a bit and replacement is advisable. In comparison, your reverse gear has near-perfect teeth on it.