Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

240 ls1 t56 build thread

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2011, 08:50 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 240 ls1 t56 build thread

I am going look at a 91 240sx to do a lsx swap on saturday, and I was wondering if there are any specific things that I should look for/avoid. Im not sure if the car is an auto or man, or if that even matters. All I know right its cheap has a decent body and a clean title.

My goal is to make a nice street car with 4-500rwhp, and not go broke doing so. I am a dealership technician, this will be the first time I swap a car to a non stock motor(although I change motors and trans regularly), and have minor fabricating capabilities(110 mig). Im really looking for advice on how to go about this without making mistakes other have already been through. Right now I am thinking of getting a gto ls2 and trans and the swap kit from hinson or sikky. But I really have no idea if that is the best route or if there is better/more cost effective way.

edit: I forgot to mention I want power steering and ac, Im not worried about cruise. Also was wondering if dbw or cable is the better way to go?

Thanks for any help, I will continue searching and reading all the threads and forums I can.

Last edited by BaddillaK; 06-19-2011 at 09:34 PM.
Old 06-09-2011, 11:03 PM
Staging Lane

How much are you wanting to spend total? I'll be the first to say its not cheap and i even went the 5.3l route(still not finished). Check the frame rails for rust along with the shock towers. Join silviav8forums.com and check out what it takes..
Old 06-09-2011, 11:26 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Id like to have it done for 12k in parts or less if possible. I joined silviav8 earlier and have been looking. I may end up goin the 5.3 or lq route. What are you doing for mounts oil pan and exhaust? that seems to be the biggest issues to get solved.
Old 06-10-2011, 06:27 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts