Military Hotrod Club - Scam Artist Using Marine War Veteran's Info




78novacaine
07-08-2011, 07:06 PM
If anyone here has any way of getting in contact with this man, I think it would be fair to warn him that his name and info are being used to conduct scams off of Craigslist:

http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/texas-members/1442337-too-good-true.html


78novacaine
07-08-2011, 08:09 PM
The gist of it:

I know when a price is unbelievable, it is usually too good to be true, so I am wanting ya'lls opinion. Found a very nice car that I really want, so I sent an email about the ad to the seller and here is our email correspondence. I just have that feeling that it's a scam. Maybe some military guys in chime in as well abou the phone call issue while on base, before deploying. Thanks for ya'lls help!

First email he responded with is at the bottom.

VIN: 1FACP42XXXXXXXXXX
As I've told you at this moment I am in in Great Falls, MT in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This means that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want. The shipping won't be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the vehicle along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program. The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection time period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the vehicle on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.
Thanks



> From: XXXXXXXXX@yahoo.com
> Subject: Re: XXXXX for Sale
> Date: Wed, 6 Jul 2011 12:40:08 -0500
> To: XXXXXXX@msn.com
>
>
> Thanks for response! I am very interested. Do you have a phone number I can call you at? Could you send me the VIN so I can run a carfax? I have cash in hand for it, just want to make sure it's all legit. Sorry for the mistrust, but I don't know you and there are alot of scams out there. I am located in midland, tx.
>
> Thanks!
>
> Sent from my iPhone
>
> On Jul 6, 2011, at 10:53 AM, wrote:
>
> > Hello,
> > I am selling this car because my unit has been sent to Afghanistan. I will not be able to drive it all this time and I sure don't want to get old in garage. The price it's low because I need to sale it in 1 week. I am after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.
> > The car has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It's in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn't been involved in any accident. I do have the title , clear, under my name. The car has 97844 miles , year.
> > If you are interested last price it's $XXXX.
> > The car is in XXXX, XX, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.
> > Let me know if you are interested.
> >

Maybe, but grammar isn't one of them. Thanks for the heads up though!

I actually did some research on the email address and guy's name before posting. Guy's name is legit, serves as a sergeant in the Marine Corp and returned from Afghanistan last June. Found a local news story from last June matching alot of the info and stating the guy was set to deploy back overseas in about 14 months, which matches the current timeline. Alot of info seemed legit but that feeling of a scam is there. This scammer has definitely done some homework and research. Pics showed a IL plate, but car is elsewhere.

Thanks for all the replies guys. I have already moved on and looking at other vehicles. I told him I wanted to fly up there, see it and pay cash. He insisted I let him ship it to me.

I think it's such BS that this crap can go on and not be considered identity theft. They are alleging they are Ryan Myers, Sgt in USMC and it's a 1993 Black Cobra.

Google Ryan Meyers, Great Falls, MT to see the news video on the real guy serving his country.

I wish I could find a way to contact him and let him know what is going on.

Dreadnought
07-15-2011, 04:13 AM
If he's active duty, you should be able to look him up on the MOL locator...if it gives you a number, most likely it'll be to his administrative section. Give them a call, they can help notify him and get his chain of command involved.