Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

SvedeSpeed OTRCAI

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 04:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SvedeSpeed OTRCAI

Not sure if this has been covered yet on here but im new to the GTO game. I have a 2006 Black M6. Currently has an aftermarket MAF, Corsa Exhaust, CAI, and Predator Tune.

Im looking into getting rid of the waste of money CAI and getting a SvedeSpeed OTRCAI. Do i need to get an upgraded IAT? If so what will this benefit for me?

Also does anyone know any shops in the Michigan area that dyno tune LSx engines?
Old 09-13-2011, 06:52 PM
10 Second Club

i too have also wondered about the upgraded iat. i have aready removed my maf and gone sd tuned so i have a new iat already. what is different about yours svede?
Old 09-13-2011, 07:18 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Well it was several years ago that I noticed the heat soak with the IAT sensor. I had an electronics background and knew that it was a thermistor and there were faster acting ones. They are rated in time constants. A time constant is like if it was 50* out and the sensor was at 100* what would be the time to get to 63% of the way to ambient (one time constant would be 82* and then another time constant to 70*, etc). It's kind of like radioactive half life. Anyways the stock one was slow (something like 15 seconds) and I found the Omega that had a time constant of 2.5 seconds. Shortly after I published the idea some people copied the upgrade and marketed their versions. The unit I make now besides using the Omega thermistor also is extended out away from the large plastic base which retains heat and places it out into the air flow better. With the intake and sensor it takes a very short time instead of several minutes to get to ambient temp when moving.

Shown with Caspers harness for LS2

Old 09-13-2011, 07:27 PM
10 Second Club