Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default light weight flywheel

what are the pros and cons? i am new to the f body and t56 world
Old 10-04-2011, 01:32 PM
Launching!

For street.
No cons unless you consider feathering the clutch on take off compared to idling away.
Pros, great throttle response and jake brake engine braking when taking the foot off the gas.
Look how many lightweight flywheels get sold vs. standard heavy units.
Old 10-04-2011, 01:33 PM
Internet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Pros: Less rotational weight, Revs quicker, good for auto cross. COuld be ok for a dedicated race car with a low race weight (depends on driver's ability)

Cons: Not street friendly, tend to put more wear on clutches, revs drop quicker. NOT optimal for 1/4mi racing for most cars. RPM drop is one of the bigger issues with 1/4mi racing.

IMO that was one thing I left in the car was a Steel FW only for the simple fact that I felt it was better for driveability and racing. Some people LOVE LW Fly Wheels, some cant stand them. Depends on what you can tolerate.
Old 10-04-2011, 01:40 PM
Internet Mechanic

Originally Posted by Nowhereman
Look how many lightweight flywheels get sold vs. standard heavy units.
Wow, a statistic that cannot be quantified, nor verified.

I think what I would say is allow maybe a sponsor advise on how many clutch assemblies they sell and maybe what flywheel they use.
Old 10-04-2011, 02:05 PM
TECH Fanatic

I have a lightwieght flywheel and the only "con" that i could see would be that for awhile at least, you'll have to relearn how to drive your car. By that i mean it will take a little higher rev to get the car moving, and the rise and fall of the RPM's during shifts will be a little different. But i have loved mine. The car revs a lot better.