Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS6 Sleeve question

Old 10-07-2011, 05:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS6 Sleeve question

I have an 03 ZO6 with 40k miles. The LS6 broke a valve spring and wrecked havoc on #5 cylinder and head. That cylinder is cracked, not the block just the cylinder. I have had it at a po-dunk machine shop that is local to me. Finally he tells me that it cant be resleeved because its a "flanged" sleeve. This really doesnt make sense to me. I am not a machinst but i have had some experience with aluminum outboard motas. I have even taken an aluminum block outboard, placed it in a oven and heated it, removed the bad sleeve and replaced the sleeved myself. it really was not hard at all. i called another local machine shop he made a few calls and he tells me it can be replaced but the block has to be placed in a "jig" and that it was a major PIA to replace. He says the labor alone would run $450 plus the cost of the sleeve.

what is your experience with this? has anyone replaced a sleeve in thier LS6? am i getting the run around? or am i being primed to be plucked? ive found another block for about 800 bucks ready to build. someone with first hand knowledge please holla back on this.
THANKS!!!
Old 10-07-2011, 05:30 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

The only way I would re-sleeve is if I did it to increase bore and cubes. Only then it is worth the $ spent IMO.
Talk to Steve D. at Race Engine Development
Old 10-07-2011, 07:56 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Go with another block. PS - you can find them a lot cheaper than $800...
Old 10-07-2011, 08:17 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Its not a pressed in sleeve like you think. http://www.corvetteactioncenter.com/...4/007/article/ read this for more info

Last edited by O2Form; 10-07-2011 at 08:40 PM.
Old 10-07-2011, 09:21 PM
That's MISTER MODERATOR

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts