Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lq4 t56 96 trans am swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2011, 06:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lq4 t56 96 trans am swap questions

Hi I'm new to v8 but been modifiying turbo imports for years.
I've searched and searched I need help! I want to make sure I'm not getting in over my head.

I'm about to buy a clean 96 auto trans am with 2000 body conversion...for 800 bucks no motor or trans. Think car was v6 originally n think he had a 383 in it

Plans: lq4 ,t56, single turbo,hp tuners, all the obvious other stuff

Problems/questions:engine mount/crossmember,which t56, how hard to do manual swap in this car, which harness n computer do I use and is it worth it. And yes it has to be manual

Please help....advise anything......thanks
Old 10-28-2011, 08:26 AM
TECH Fanatic

Plans: lq4 ,t56, single turbo,hp tuners, all the obvious other stuff

Sounds fun!

Problems/questions:engine mount/crossmember
LS1 k member and mounts. You will probably want to pick up a tubular turbo k member. A few of the sponsors here sell them.

which t56
LS1 T56

how hard to do manual swap in this car
Easy! Just a bit of cutting and rewiring. There is a how-to around here somewhere. You could probably find it easily with a search.

which harness n computer do I use and is it worth it.
99+ pcm and wiring would be your best bet

Please help....advise anything......thanks
Old 10-29-2011, 07:37 AM
Teching In

Thanks a lot man!

I figured the ls1 tubular k member would do it. But I read somewhere that It won't bolt up to 96 trans am. And I read something about having to use steering rack from ls1 camaro.

What cutting is involved in manual swap?