Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ9 swap with 4l80e Trans help

Old 11-09-2011, 10:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ9 swap with 4l80e Trans help

LQ9 with 4l80e Trans in my 85 c10
I'm very new to this whole form thing .. I want to start my 85 c10 swap with a LQ9 engine and need some advice .. Tryin to go cheap but not super cheap I am on a budget .. Few questions .. Things I need
tank/ pump/ sender/ lines
PCM tune
Harness
Throttle body - cable operated
Power Steering lines - custom
exhaust system
Intake tubing
Driveshaft/ crossmember mods
Radiator/ Fans
Trans cooler/ lines
Engine mounts
Is there anything I'm missing.. Any advice on where I can get an harness ecu tuned already .. A plug and play set up.. About how much do u think this build should run about as far as cash if read so many toffee t prices .. Thanks 4 the time any advice would be most appreciated
Old 11-10-2011, 12:03 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Did you buy the LQ9 and 4l80 already bolted together with the harness and PCM?

The LQ9 never came with the 4l80. So you have to swap flexplates as well as mod the harness and PCM. As well as the LQ9's were DBW I would just keep it DBW, pretty easy to add cruise control to it was well.
Old 11-10-2011, 03:27 AM

I read on here that its more of a hassle to hook up the dbw thats why i was goin to do the throttle cable to make things smiple.. i did not get the trans yet ive also read on here that this is the trans most ppl use when doing the swap.. any suggestions??? thanks
Old 11-10-2011, 06:04 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What are you going to do for gauges and trans likage? The cost is a open question. I would like 2k set aside from the hard parts to keep things moving along.
Old 11-10-2011, 06:33 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts