Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

common question....engine swap to LSX

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2011, 05:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question common question....engine swap to LSX

Hi I am a newbie. I just got a 1972 SS Camaro. I am wanting to take out my current carburetated 350 and put in a LS engine(5.3, 5.7, 6.0) with a T56.
So I posted on Nastyz28 this question about the swap and basically they are saying NOOO and to stay with my current engine. Yet I have alot of connections to scrap yards etc with close friends. I have read this forum https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...de-1500-a.html (awesome post btw) and it made me want to do it even more, but these guys on nastyz28 are saying that there is more money to it etc etc and it takes years, etc etc. What's y'all's input, recommendations, etc?? Thanks

Oh and here is the forum I started originally at nastyz28
http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=228698
Old 11-28-2011, 05:22 PM
Teching In

As soon as I posted this I got on ebay. 5.3 LM7 buy it now...800 bucks. Full block, alternator, wiring harness, gas pedal, computer, etc. I dont get where these guys come up with all these thousands of dollars...
Old 11-28-2011, 06:17 PM
TECH Regular

Parts add up quick if you don't have the skills to do everything yourself. Need to buy motor mounts or adapters, headers, oil pan, fuel pump and fuel lines. Possibly need new driveshaft, shifter, flywheel, transs X-member, exhaust system and gauges or gauge adapters. Then you still have to mod the harness and retune the computer. And that's all before stuff goes wrong or doesn't play well with other pieces...not to mention all the odds and ends that I forgot.