Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

94 Mustang 5.3L TH350 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2011, 03:43 PM
8 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Been lurking for quite a while, reading, learning (still learning), but thought I'd post up my current project. Although I'm new to this side of the fence I've been building/racing Mustangs for close to 20 years.

I picked up a 1994 Mustang V6 roller for pretty cheap and I'm going to drop an 80k mile 5.3L in it with a TH350 w/transbrake. The car at one point had a turbo set up on a V6 and an 8.8" rear swapped into it. I'll be using a UPR 4.6 K-member with their LS to 4.6 adapter plates, 4.6 urethane motor mounts and Dynatech headers. Other than the headers the only other performance upgrades will be an MS3 cam, 918 springs and underdrive pulley. The intake will kill it for now but I'll pick up an LS6 intake once the car is up and running.

The car will be mostly a track car that is just streetable enough that I can drive to work or to the track. Manual steering/brakes, no AC, basically take all the excess weight out of the car possible. The interior will "look" complete but anything not needed will be removed.

This is the roller I picked up.

Stock 01+ V6 left in the car.

Pulled the engine out and did some degreasing.

Some of the parts starting to arrive.

Picked up a near complete 04 black interior from the junkyard.

How it was when I got it.

New dash in place.

I'm using fox body from a arms up front which are narrow to tuck the skinnies in a bit so I'm using a fox body steering rack. To use that I needed to convert the stock rack to the fox body style splined u joint.

Instead of modifying a stock 4.6 motor mount I'm using this adapter plates from UPR. It just bolts to the block and the 4.6 motor mount bolts to the adapter plate.