Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Running speed density for turboed chevelle

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2012, 07:57 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running speed density for turboed chevelle

So, I am new to this fuel injection stuff and have been reading that speed density is the way to go on turbo set ups. What all is entailed in going speed density and not running MAF? What on the wiring will I need to change and so forth? I really appreciate any input.
Old 01-01-2012, 09:29 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Speed density is not necessarily always the best way to go. It depends on how much power you trying to make, how much boost and how quickly. In my tuning book Master EFI Tuner by Dan Maslic, he says that if you expect boost to come on quickly (say by 2500 rpm) then speed density is good. Or if you plan on running over about 9psi (if I remember right) then speed density is good. I have only ever run speed density, so that is what I do every time I do a build.

People will say that drivability suffers in a speed density tune. That is only true if the person tuning it did a poor job.

Other than that, it is simply a case of pulling the MAF wires out of the wiring harness. You will have to keep the air temp sensor wires though. They are wired into the maf. I got one of those books off of Ebay for $25 that gives you all the wire schematics and plug info. It REALLY helped out.

From there, you have to go in with your tuning program and set it up for speed density (this involves more reading). Again, my Master EFI Tuner book explains how to do this using HP Tuners and EFI Live.
Old 01-01-2012, 10:14 PM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by metalman