Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone have trouble with IAC bore in Fast 90mm?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2012, 01:42 PM
11 Second Club

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

Default Anyone have trouble with IAC bore in Fast 90mm?

So I've been fighting through the idle tuning off and on for a couple months and I can get the car running great, park it for a few days and be back to square one.

If I adjust the set screw it will start running again, normally most of the time and then idle high sometimes. Eventually going back to where when I let off the throttle it dies almost instantly like it's choked for air bad. Flashing a new tune will not fix it when it's doing this which makes me think it's a physical problem.

I am starting to question whether the IAC could be hanging in the bore sometimes and not operating smoothly. I know people have had trouble with the blades on the old 90mm TB and was curious if anyone has had anything like this before? It's a new theory so I want to do some logs and watch IAC counts to see if they are changing like they should.

Thinking about taking the IAC out and cleaning the bore, checking for burs, maybe sand it lightly, and grease the IAC before putting it back. Just curious if anyone has heard of anything like this before.
Old 01-06-2012, 08:11 PM
12 Second Club

Received 182 Likes on 141 Posts

i've never really heard of anything like that before with the 90mm but you never know. Pole it out like you were saying and check to see if there are any burrs. If you dont see anything then i would sand anything down. It honestly sounds like a bad iac to me. Have you changed the iac motor yet?
Old 01-08-2012, 01:21 PM
11 Second Club

yes, it's only a couple months old
Old 12-30-2013, 11:22 AM
11 Second Club

here is a thread detailing this problem for future reference

https://ls1tech.com/forums/pcm-diagn...pics-info.html
Old 12-30-2013, 05:44 PM