Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

gto ls2 head cam options for 93 rx-7

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2012, 03:02 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default gto ls2 head cam options for 93 rx-7

I know these threads come up all the time, but I'm really new to pushrod motors so I'll need a little slack. I've been reading a lot and it seems that the major routes are aftermarket cathedral heads or stock ls3 top end. I see that the cathedral port vs d port battle is pretty red hot, but since this 2005 GTO ls2 and t56 is going into an rx-7 I have some unique questions that change my options.

1. Can an aftermarket cable throttle body be bolted onto an ls3 intake? I have to run a cable driven throttle body for my application so this is a big factor in my options.

2. Can an ls2 with milled ls3 heads run a big enough cam to achieve 470-500 whp without fly cutting the pistons? I'll have 1 7/8" headers, stock maf intake, lightweight flywheel, ported ls3 intake and hopefully 102 tb.

I am looking for 470-500 whp with a pretty dd friendly cam. Some slight chugging/bucking is ok but I don't want a miserable to drive track only car. I'm used to driving a built 2.2l mr2 turbo that makes 444whp, and it has some bucking below 2200 rpm which makes stop and go a little annoying(livable though I guess cause I do haha).

So here are the options I'm thinking of, but like I said the throttle body and flycutting dictates this too.
1. afr 230cc v2 or prc 227cc heads with a matching cam and fast 102 intake. really expensive option but from what I've read will definitely make 500whp. The advantage is I know a cable t-body can be used with the fast, and no ptv clearance issues.