PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

buying tuning software used, what should i look for?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2012, 07:30 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying tuning software used, what should i look for?

there is a guy selling this locally:
Late model HP TUNERS for sale, tunes gm, ford, and mopar, and comes with 2 credits which is what you need to tap into your computer, I already used it to tune my Ls1 powered gm and now I want to sell it, I paid over $600 new!

hes asking $250 for it, i have never used tuning software before but i know that ill be using HP tuners since i have a friend with alot of experience with it.

what should i look for, is there a minimum requierment on what version it should be? what should it come with? how does it work on the HP tuners site if i buy this used example login info, support etc.

if its not worth it then ill just buy it new. just want to see if i can save some money. let me know thanks
Old 01-10-2012, 07:57 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Be sure he gives you the user login ID / password he
has for support / download pages. If possible verify
that it works properly, it's electronics after all - like
plug it in and scan briefly at least.

There is no longer support for the serial hardware but
if he says gm/ford/chrysler then it ought to be the
MPVI version that is USB. But be sure about that.
Old 01-10-2012, 10:31 PM
Launching!

i just talked to the guy and he says he has the login info, but he doesent have the software. he says that with the login i can just download the software again and use it. is this true?
Old 01-10-2012, 10:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by VerdeZ28
i just talked to the guy and he says he has the login info, but he doesent have the software. he says that with the login i can just download the software again and use it. is this true?