Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

I'm stumped! Any ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2012, 02:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm stumped! Any ideas?

A few days ago I did an engine oil change and a trans fluid change. That's it! The first time out my belt came off and the engine got a little hot. Nothing crazy, 200 degree's maybe. However, the car wouldn't get into boost as quickly and felt as though once it hit 12lbs it was falling into a bog. I changed the engine oil back to 10w 30 Mobile 1. That's what I have been running in it for 2 months now with no problem. For some reason I tried the 20w 50 Valvoline Racing oil. Of course when the turbo's didn't respond I immediately changed it back.

I take the car back out and it does the same thing with the new oil. It drives fine, starts fine, idles, etc... I get it home and notice the passenger side has some white smoke coming out the exhaust. Not so on the drivers side. I checked all the plugs and nothing crazy. The passenger side plugs I couldn't see the timing marks as easy and one looked a little cleaner, not much but a little. I figured blown head gasket.

Today I used one of the kits that you test for carbon monoxide and the fluid never turned yellow. I did a compression test and all cylinders are good. So I think that is good news.

Anyways, I let the engine completely cool down for several hours. When I fired it back up there is NO SMOKE coming out either side until the car warms up for a few minutes. Then you can definitely see a small amount of smoke coming out the passenger side exhaust and also where the turbo and down pipe connect to each other.

FWIW-When I remove the oil filler cap there is NOT excessive smoke coming from there.
Did I have a turbo go bad? Bad ring? I'm stumped!

Last edited by Wicked69; 03-20-2012 at 03:06 PM.
Old 03-20-2012, 09:01 PM
TECH Fanatic