Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications

Detailing My Car?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 12:45 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Detailing My Car?

Hello all, I'm pretty new to the whole detailing of the car scene, so basically, how do you go about doing it?

Obviously, wash, rinse, dry, but things such as what products? What is a clay bar? haha sounds dumb, but I really want to try to make my car look as nice as possible.

Also a few months ago the bumpers on my car were painted, along with my hood and a few other misc portions, would it be ok to wax?

Run me through the whole process! Thanks everyone!
Old 04-19-2012, 12:57 PM
Staging Lane

Well you named all the obvious stuff. But there are other more subtle things such as making sure you clean your wheel wells, polishing any metal that's on the car, detailing the engine bay. Basically cleaning anything on the car. I would suggest going to adamspolishes.com I could talk to you about detailing all day, but its easier for you to see for yourself. On there you can click on any products (like a clay bar for example) and there's a video that explains the process, purpose, and shows the end result. That would be your best bet
Old 04-19-2012, 01:25 PM
On The Tree

Oh okay! Great, thank you, I'll have to try to check that site out!
Old 04-19-2012, 08:10 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

http://s11detailing.com/info.html All of this basically. You want to start by washing it, wiping it down and drying it. Then claybar, then put each panel under a bright halogen light or the sun and look for swirls, scratches, dust scratches, hairline scratches, etc etc. Then you need to a polish and correct pad based off how bad the paint is to buff with. Work your way up from using the least abrasive pad and polish as you can up to the finest softest polish and pad.