Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1962 Impala LQ4/700r4: EDIT now going LS2/4L60e

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2012, 02:42 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1962 Impala LQ4/700r4: EDIT now going LS2/4L60e

Well, I wasn't going to make a thread for this until I got the car moved, but I have been doing lots of research and figured I could use this thread to get a bunch of questions answered. This build is going to take a while because we are still in the process of collecting all of the parts, and have not really set any kind of deadline. This is just a project for me and the wife to work on when we have the time.

A little background. I am an Engine/Trans tech for a Cadillac dealer in Nashville, so I am not an amateur. I have been in this business for almost 8 years. I work on mostly GM stuff, but don't have a ton of experience in the LS1 department since I have worked for Saturn, Cadillac and GMC dealers most of my career.

Now on to the good stuff. Rachael and I are going to be swapping out her factory 283/ 2 speed powerglide combo in favor of an LQ4 setup that I recently aquired as payment for a job I am working on. The motor has been disassembled as you can see in the pictures.

A lot of the parts that we are going to be using again have already been cleaned. We are going to try to use all the truck accessories, including the water pump, but we are undecided as to what kind of intake/fuel rail/injector combo we should go with. This car is going to be setup as a cruiser, nothing real powerful. If there are a few parts that could be had for cheap enough that we are going to have to buy anyways, like the intake manifold, then we may upgrade those.

First question, is there a big enough difference between the LS2 intake vs. LS1 intake to justify upgrading this? Or will the LS1 intake be plenty for this motor. I know the LS1/6 intake was used on a 5.7L and the LS2 was used on a 6.0L, but do we have to use the LS2 intake since this motor is also a 6.0?