View Full Version : LS6 CTS-V vs G8 GT Reliability/Maintenance

Raoul-Duke
06-04-2012, 09:57 PM
Okay guys here is the situation. I am looking to sell my 2001 Z28 and pick up something a little more practical. I graduated last year and am working now, I was going to keep my Z28 and pick up a dd, but I always have wanted a vette, so down the road I am shooting for that.

In the mean time I need something until then, I still need something with some balls and it comes down to these two. (GM for life)

I am looking for past experience from past/present owners of these two cars.

{LS6 CTSV compared to the G8 GT}

I am not concerned one bit about performance but I am concerned about what car is better in the long run in terms of things breaking down.

I used to have a 2004 GTO and got rid of the car with 39k on it because of front suspension bushing issues, the radio was crapping out on me, power seats were failing. It was not a pleasant experience that I DO not want to repeat.

The G8 does worry me considering my past experience with Australian cars but I have never owned a G8 so I am open to all suggestions.

My main concern with the two cars is: (Transmission longevity (G8) suspension issues, electronical issues, navigation issues (CTSV) Brembo brake replacement (CTSV) and every little thing in between.

PLEASE tell of any serious design flaws that plague either of these cars, this is what I would like to know and hopefully at the end of our discussion I can choose one of them...

Thank you all in advance, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your input.

itsslow98
06-04-2012, 10:02 PM
Every bushing in the CTS-V is pure shit, rear diff's are somewhat reliable at best even under stock power, brakes are expensive and the navigation in the V sucks. Once you get that stuff out of the way they are pretty reliable.

G8s I have seen with lifter issues due to the DOD. They also take I believe 9 quarts of oil so oil changes are expensive as shit.