Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

LQ4 turbo motor build HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2012, 03:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 turbo motor build HELP!

i saw that there were post talking about turbo's ect. but i didnt find one that answered all my questions for my setup. If theres one out there i appoligize.

I new to this forum so Hi everyone, i own a 1996 chevy camaro with a LT1 i'm pulling the LT1 and swapping with a (i believe) an LQ4. A friend of mine is building this one for me, as i'm complete noob to chevy GM and LS base motors. The block were starting with is a cast iron 6.0L which leads me to believe it is an LQ4^^ at first i started this build with the intention of building an N/A motor. But after much debate i have talked myself into building a greater horsepowered beast. With the N/A i was looking at about 400-500hp but with all m friends pushing 750-1200hp i didnt want to be the runt of the group. I went to LG motorsports and they told me alot i already knew and some i didnt. I know i will need forged rotating assmble i.e. crank, rods, pistions, cam designed for forced induction and a metal carb similiar designed intake manifold with a front facing throttle body, upgraded fuel delivery ID1000cc injectors and a 400lhr fuel pump and a compression of 9.5:1 but i also want this vehicle to be something i can drive on the street, is it possible to produce 800 whp or close on pump to be reliable. i know with more power you take away the reliability and your gas mileage. But i'm being told otherwise, i'm being told 800hp on boost can be achieved and still be a reliable vehicle. This will obviously be a huge drawn out project i'm just looking for advice, ideas, help with the design, etc.

I also know there is noway to build the 10 bolt rear end to handle that kind of power so im looking at 12 bolt or 9 inch. Any advice or opinions on that would be appreciated also.