General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Random Misfiring, mechanic says its ok?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 04:29 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Random Misfiring, mechanic says its ok?

I'd like to start off by apologizing if any of this is obvious, I'm still new to F-Bodies and I don't have much car knowledge the car in question is a '96 Trans Am.
So I had taken the car to a mechanic, and put a lot of work into it to make it run right and pass smog. Since then, the check engine light came on again, for P0300 random misfires. I brought it back to the mechanic and he said that LT1 birds are prone to misfiring and its not a problem, I should just drive and enjoy the car and not worry about it. Can anyone shed some light on if this is bullshit or not? The car is virtually stock, T56
Old 07-17-2012, 06:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Bullshit. No car is "prone" to misfire. Check spark plugs wires clean MAF and Check the opti those are a few common causes of misfires.
Old 07-17-2012, 07:02 PM
On The Tree

What 14 k said! Bull bull bull. I am a technitian and I would never give that answer. He or she needs to be honest about the problem. Think about it: will your car pass inspection with a check engine light on? Would the manufacture be able to sell a car that polluted? Missfire is the worst thing. It will ruin your cats. Maybe the problem is not the mechanics fault but the mechanic has to finish the job or tell you they can't. Sorry but that answer pissed me off.
Old 07-18-2012, 12:18 AM
Teching In