Sponsored by:

Help with 243 Head install on c5

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 11:32 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with 243 Head install on c5

Hello Everyone,

My name is Wes. I am new to LS1's I have a 500whp turbo Stang. But I have been very lucky to have been given a 2001 corvette by my boss as a bonus. Its only has 21k on it.

I love this car and I love the low end snappiness of the LS1. So I recently received a nice set of 243 heads with dual PRC valve springs for some computer and website work I did. I read a lot on here and ready your Sticky’s. So my question is to you. What do I need to install these heads? I know head gaskets is a given. I don’t know if I need rockers and push rods, if I should do normal head bolts or ARP head studs? I also was wondering what Cam I should buy? I have an auto and I don’t want to change out the convertor. This is 98% street car but I would love to make some more power. I love the snappy low end torque it has now so I don’t want to lose that while making as much top end as possible, if I could even gain more low end that would be cool if that makes sense? I have great tuners by me, I will get it tuned afterwards. I wanted your advice on what else I need to do the install, and what Cam to buy. If you sell any of these items, let me know I would buy from you. Just quote me on a whole package with Cam.

Thanks in advance on any help or in-sight.
Old 08-08-2012, 12:52 PM
FormerVendor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by 01VetteVert
Hello Everyone,

My name is Wes. I am new to LS1's I have a 500whp turbo Stang. But I have been very lucky to have been given a 2001 corvette by my boss as a bonus. Its only has 21k on it.