General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

98 camaro ls1 o2 sensor codes

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 09:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 camaro ls1 o2 sensor codes

Hello
I am a newbie. Recently purchased my first ls1 car which is a 1998 camaro that is a former patrol car from a city in Ca.

When I got the car it was ok running it normal. When I would get on it and drive it hard (wot) the SES light up. If I then drove it easy eventually the light would go out. As long as the car was run easy no codes would pop up...

I scanned the car and got codes 131 and 151 which I know were the upstream o2 sensors on each side.
I changed both yesterday with new denso sensors and it seemed like the car really woke up...I started to run it hard some and again the SES light popped on. Now it runs lame again as it's in limp mode.
I am stumped as I know nothing about these GM cars. I have been a fox body mustang guy for the past 15 years.

Any suggestions/help to get this beast running how it should?
Thanks!
Old 08-30-2012, 05:20 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts

How many miles are on the car? Do you know if you are working with the original engine and/or if it's been rebuilt?
Old 08-30-2012, 06:05 AM
Teching In

112k miles. Everythings original.
Old 08-31-2012, 09:35 AM
Save the manuals!

Wow. If this were a normal car, (its not) I'd say that its probably not an O2 sensor issue since you are getting codes from both sides of the car at the same time. If the codes only come when you are WOT, then its probably something else in the engine and the O2 sensors are just warning you of a lean condition.

Here's some great reading before going further: http://www.wellsve.com/sft503/counterp_v2_i3_1998.pdf

The first culprits I'd check are things that can lean you out at WOT:
- A dirty MAF
- Stuck throttle plate
- Low fuel pressure