Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[C3 Swap] Wiring Help!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 11:43 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default [C3 Swap] Wiring Help!!!!

Okay. Sorry if a lot of this seems basic but I'm new to wiring and i'm getting super confused. LS1 into a '69 vette.

Trying to figure out what wires from the old harness need to still get hooked up along with the new LS1 wiring harness.

1. The picture from PSI harness only had 1 wire hooking up to the starter yet I have two...not sure if one is a motor ground? or if both hook to the large post on the starter solenoid.
(they are the two in my hand)

-From the old harness I'm showing the two large connectors and two small. I'm diving into my wiring diagram to figure them all out. Pretty sure my old solenoid had 4 posts and each one went to a different post. Not sure which ones are needed now that I only have 2 usable posts.
Old 09-03-2012, 12:23 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Your old starter had a post from the solenoid that energized the coil with a full 12 V during cranking, it bypassed the ballast resistor. You dont need that with the LS motor.
Old 09-03-2012, 01:09 PM
Teching In

Thanks.

Yeah. I just traced back wires on my diagram and have figured out the old harness!

large red= hook up to solenoid..it goes to horn rely and eventually to ignition

large black=engine ground. might as well hook up to block.

small black= wire that went to the old coil. Leaving unhooked.

small purple= wire that goes to ignition/clutch synchro/neutral safety swith. I hooked it up to the small post on the solenoid.

BUT
I'm even more worried about the two connections from the new harness.
I was going to put them both on the large post but that means constant power all the time right?

The only two large red wires going into the fuse panel are:
-10amp fuse giving constant power to PCM
-Igntion relay which says should be switched