Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Switching from aftermarket HU to stock monsoon

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2012, 08:36 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Switching from aftermarket HU to stock monsoon

I bought my car with an aftermarket head unit and speakers/'system' already installed from the previous owner. The setup was terrible so I yanked all the speakers and amp, put in some cheap 4x6 speakers that worked fine.

Problem is my head unit now drains the battery. I haven't used a multimeter to find which wire is the culprit yet but I hate the way it looks anyway and want the OEM setup.

My question is what do I need besides the stock head unit and speakers? Obviously some kind of wiring to the stereo but despite being mechanically inclined, I'm a complete novice with wiring. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-23-2012, 09:47 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If your going back to stock the previous owner should of used a wire harness if so disconnect it and the oem unit is plug and play
Old 10-23-2012, 11:54 PM
Launching!

I know who has a stock monsoon head unit that worked when taking it out of my car
Old 10-24-2012, 07:18 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 260 Likes on 224 Posts

Originally Posted by insidethreat07
I know who has a stock monsoon head unit that worked when taking it out of my car
Except I'm sure he won't want to put a Camaro head unit in a Trans Am.
Old 10-24-2012, 07:28 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 260 Likes on 224 Posts

Originally Posted by newchevyman
My question is what do I need besides the stock head unit and speakers? Obviously some kind of wiring to the stereo but despite being mechanically inclined, I'm a complete novice with wiring. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
It depends on what the previous owner left behind and how they installed the aftermarket head unit.