Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant leak, possible head gasket (am I missing something?)

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2012, 11:53 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant leak, possible head gasket (am I missing something?)

OK I am fairly new to the ls1 thing. But I have been using the search feature on here like a **** for the past few months. I couldn't find anything by searching so I figured I would ask the question.

I recently installed a motor in my 02 Camaro. It was a motor I picked up from a guy at work, 99 LS1 w/ rebuild approx. 10,00 miles but it has been sitting for 5 years. The motor has factory 99' heads, 224/228 cam, Fast 90/90 and full bolt-ons if it matters. So I put the motor in a few months back and have been tinkering w/ it here and there because it is at my mom's house in Va.

Here is the problem I am having. I definitely have a coolant leak. It seems like it is leaking from the head gasket toward the rear passengers side of the motor. I checked the coolant plug where the temp sensor would screw in on the drivers side, I also checked another Allen headed plug in that area and both are dry. I also checked the steam tube on that side of the manifold (I did the ls6 crossover on the back) and it is dry also. The only place I can see the antifreeze or signs of leak are between the head and the block toward the rear maybe above #6 Piston area. Everything seems to be dry above the head gasket area. So, does this sounds like a head gasket cut and dry or is there something I am missing? Also, the car leaks water from this area running and just sitting there not running until it gets lower than the leak then it stops. Car runs good and strong and I hate to pulls heads but if I have to I have to.