Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

clunking sound after changing shocks

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 08:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool clunking sound after changing shocks

I changed my shocks in two stages bilstein hd's, I did the back first and it was simple. Drove the car for a couple of day and the rear was fine. Rented sprigcomp. from the zone and cahnged the front. Test drove the car and when going over bump the front end souded like it was about to fall out?? I am a novice at working on cars but I follow directions well and can't affor to take it to the shop for over $60 and hr.. Are the upper control arms suppose to be level with the strut mount when installing? Everything is tight and torqued to specs.

The shock top nut is screwed down with about 5 threads showing, hard to torque this nut without the shaft turning. Has new tie rods inner/outter. Would the sway bar ends cause a loud thunk? I haven't replaced the bushings there yet but they look more than 50%. What the crap is going on?
Old 12-09-2012, 09:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Are they adjustable shocks?
Old 12-09-2012, 11:24 PM
On The Tree

get a hex key to turn the nut. if you notice the top of the shock has a hex key fitting. its so you don't turn it. Turning it may cause the shock to fail on you or not work properly.
Old 12-10-2012, 06:08 AM

They are not adjustable.
Old 12-10-2012, 06:10 AM

by doing this , which I did its hard to torque. I just played by touch when I tightened this nut. Thanks though
Old 12-10-2012, 10:15 AM
On The Tree

That nut need be tightened more.
Old 12-10-2012, 10:17 AM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yep. Make sure you compress the springs as much as you can when you tighten to get the nut tight. If it's not tight it will clunk like yours does.
Old 12-10-2012, 12:52 PM
TECH Addict

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts