Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Megasquirt vs Factory ECM/harness

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2012, 08:19 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Megasquirt vs Factory ECM/harness

I'm building a foxbody with a 347 Lsx, pt 88 and a TH400 and I've come to a dilemma in my build with the engine management portion. I'm going to be running Fast 95lb injectors which requires an injector driver and after looking around I've seen multiple guys using Megasquirt/MSD 6ls vs a stock pcm and modified gm harness.

My question is, to those who do use Megasquirt, how user friendly is it? I'm completely new to tuning and would like to learn about it. From what I've researched a lot of guys also recommend using Hp tuners in conjunction with the stock ecm/harness as its extremely user friendly for newbs such as myself. At this point I'm willing to take the time and learn for either setup but I'm more so interested in Megasquirt, its a lot cleaner setup and my car is going to be mainly a drag car, and cruise around on the weekends. Money isn't an object, I just want some others opinions and advice.
Old 12-27-2012, 08:55 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You will get a ton off opinions on this.
I for one like ms3 its easy to use and for a boosted build with a non electric trans. Ms3 is the way to go
Old 12-27-2012, 08:58 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

From what I see, MegaSquirt users are more apt to share their "tunes" than tuners of the stock GM computer.
Old 12-28-2012, 05:21 PM
TECH Regular

Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts

Do you like (or want to learn) how to solder and build electronic PC boards and such ? And, in the end you will know how every input/output to the ECU is wired and configured ? You will learn that on the Msquirt. This can either be a lot of frustration and headache for you or a very valuable tool for making the engine run great.