Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help with 93 octane tune knowledge

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2012, 09:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with 93 octane tune knowledge

Hey guys, I'm new to the whole forum posting thing to start things off. I bought a 98 T/A last summer from a dad who wanted a weekend hotrod but got tired of it quick. The owner before him only left the dad with receipts of the work done before I got the car. Some of the mods: stage 2 phantom heads( polished and ported), custom Comp cam with a .590 lift, chromoly pushrods, eagle 1 forged pistons and crankshaft, stroked to 383 ci, stock Ls1 manifold and TB, stock Lid, 3.73 gears, 2700 stall, long tube headers with x pipe and dumped before rear axle. The dad I bought the car from told me it runs on 87 just fine and 93 fine as well. I always put 93 in the car, however. When I dynoed the car, I was running 93 octane and the car made 397 rwhp on it's best pull. I feel like this number is pretty low for the mods done to the car so my questions are:

- was it tuned on 87 octane?
-if it was, should I retune it on 93 at a reputable place and advance the timing?
- I also am interested in buying an Ls6 intake manifold to help the car breath a little better along with a new TB. Should I port the stock TB or which should I buy with my current mods?

Sorry this is so much information and so many questions, I've just been put in the dark with the car's mods. I really feel like it has the mods listed but just was tuned on 87 Octane and is missing that extra push

Thanks

Patrick( Fort Worth area )

Ptaylor459@gmail.com
Old 12-28-2012, 01:01 PM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Car should be making more power than that but I would do a tune up and get it retuned by a reputable tuner then go from there.
Old 12-29-2012, 03:20 PM
10 Second Club

Numbers sound low but the LS1 intake could be a MAJOR culprit for that...

Was this with the converter locked???