General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

oil leaking out of spark plug, see pic

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2013, 03:00 PM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default oil leaking out of spark plug, see pic

Okay, **** my life. Oil change turns into a huge **** my life day. So here we go, car does eat oil, and when your driving around no smoking nothing out of the ordinary until your under load(never at idle) and you stomp the peddle in I leave a small cloud behind the car usually in 2nd or higher. Now, because we had no idea it was leaking from the spark plug until today which no prompts us to check the spark plug itself for being loose or damaged. but we always thought the Valve seals were bad. still plausible considering I have been driving it like this for 2 years. Didn't do this when I bought the car. until one day I decided to be a speed racer and wipe a bimmer off the floor that was 2 years ago and the biggest amount of smoke the car has ever spit out never has it done that much which again, a valve may have got stuck open or something worst.not leaking anywhere else though, never leaked enough to leave a drop except when it sat in the garage for a month and a half, which was 2 little drops, I was wondering where it came from

Either way, I would love for advice. I have a pair of heads already to go into the car and if it's the piston rings. **** my life i will need a new short block because it would be cheaper or hell sell this car as is and get a nicer one
Attached Thumbnails oil leaking out of spark plug, see pic-imag0224.jpg  
Old 01-07-2013, 03:19 PM
Teching In

Ok, first take a break, sounds like you need one
Second, I doubt it is in the block/rings, wouldn't make its way up to the spark plug hole, especially when it is sitting. Would have to be in the heads
Old 01-07-2013, 03:22 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,492 Likes on 1,074 Posts