Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l80e converter questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2013, 10:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 4l80e converter questions

I recently bought a 4l80e since I blew 3rd and 4th out of my 4l60e. At the moment, my car is BONE STOCK. But, I also picked up a lq4 to build and plumb for a twin turbo setup. I am looking to get a stall around 3200-3400 maybe a little higher depending on my turbo setup. The car will see 95% street duty. Anyways, would i be better off buying a cheaper converter until I get serious power behind it or go ahead and buy the circled multidisk converter I am wanting. Im not a transmission expert or converter expert. But, if I get one built for my power goals wouldn't it be more loose or tight on my current stock setup?
Old 02-04-2013, 12:56 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

A 3400 stall is really not that high, even for a street car. I'd go ahead and buy a quality converter in the 3600 range and run it with the stock setup. That alone will really wake up your car, plus it will go well with your TT setup later down the road. And save you from buying two converters.
A converter for any power level is one of the best mods you can do for an Auto IMO.
Old 02-04-2013, 05:17 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by BlwnLs1GTO
A 3400 stall is really not that high, even for a street car. I'd go ahead and buy a quality converter in the 3600 range and run it with the stock setup. That alone will really wake up your car, plus it will go well with your TT setup later down the road. And save you from buying two converters.
A converter for any power level is one of the best mods you can do for an Auto IMO.