Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Cam selection on 434 LSX- Procharged F1d ---

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2013, 11:05 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam selection on 434 LSX- Procharged F1d ---

Looking at changing the cam on my setup due to some various suggestions but not sure if i should or not....

I have a 434 LSX 9.0:1 compression; procharger F1d @ about 16lbs; Mast LS7 heads; LS7 rockers with comp upgrade; 3" exhaust; on 93 octane

Summer driver and drag strip 2-3 times /month....

My current Cam is:
232/248 .610/.624 on 115 LSA... (all the info I have on this)

If it were you would you keep this cam or ditch and go something different... I like the sound and decent power 770rwhp... but my 4350lb car only does the quarter in 10.3.... seem it should be faster...

any help would be great!!! I am a newbie on cams selection (actually read tons of thread and info but i am more of a dumbie than a newbie on this subject. )..

also with this cam and ls7 heads... do you think stock valve covers would clear?... currently have granetelli tall billet covers and want some color vs polished and was looking at stock cover size... thx
Old 02-19-2013, 06:24 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

That cam isn't much larger than my blower cam. You're running more boost and am almost 100 rwhp lower in power, than a CTS-V we built at the old shop. The dyno sheet can be found at this link. http://shop.brutespeed.com/Brute-Spe...d-Camshaft.htm
We had fewer cubes as it was a 402, it has AFR 225 heads, a little more compression than you have, used the ProCharger GTO kit as the starting point with an F-1A, and 12.4 psi of boost. I realize they are two totally different builds, as your MAST heads flow some incredible numbers, have you thought about increasing the boost, provided belt slippage doesn't become a problem? Which intercooler are you using? Bob

PM's disabled, please e-mail me