Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Educate me on Prochargers

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2013, 02:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Educate me on Prochargers

Well as the title says im a complete noob when it comes to forced induction. But i'd like to think about a kit on my 2001 Z06 for the later future. As far as my goals are i'd like a 100% reliable street driven car even after install. I'm familiar with the sizes on the kits and their potential via the procharger site. How much a basic kit run for my car (P1 D1). Other than whats included in the kit, will anything else be needed to be done to my car beforehand. I know i sound pretty dumb but i'd like to do my homework on this before dropping the dough on a high dollar mod. Any feedback would be appreciated.

As for the car its just a 2001 C5 Z06 with a catback and tune.

Thanks
Old 02-25-2013, 02:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

injectors, FUEL PUMP, tires.
Old 02-25-2013, 03:03 PM
9 Second Club

Received 179 Likes on 154 Posts

The question is a little vague. In reality, you need to have some idea of what power you want.

The harder you push, the more risk on a stock motor. The harder you push, then you may need a clutch upgrade, although there's a good chance you'd need that at some point anyway

The two most popular over on the Vette forum are A&A Corvette and East Coast supercharging. Their primary blower ranges are Vortech and Paxton respectively. Although I think they still offer some kits for Procharger units too.

Discuss your goals with them, and I'm sure you can both come to an agreement about what is needed and a price.

Last edited by stevieturbo; 02-25-2013 at 03:09 PM.
Old 02-25-2013, 03:07 PM
Teching In

I'd like to be somewhere in between the 500-600hp range.
Sorry i know i'm not really supplying enough information, just trying to learn.
Old 02-25-2013, 03:13 PM
9 Second Club

Originally Posted by Maxx_Z06